DISTRICT is a basic administrative unit in our country. The district bureaucracy and its structure in the country are conceived and given a shape more than a century ago. The head of the district administration is the Collector/ District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner who is drawn from Indian Administrative Service.

Though most of the developmental activities at the district are carried out by the various functional departments, the Collector as the Chief Executive of the district has a central role as the coordinator of programs implemented in the district. As the revenue head of the district, he is the chief representative of the Government. As the District Magistrate he is responsible for the law and order within the district. The Deputy Commissioner is assisted by Assistant Commissioners, who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one or more taluks called revenue sub-division, and Tahsildars who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one taluk. Bangalore Rural District has 1 revenue sub divisions viz., Doddaballapur and 4 Taluks viz., Doddaballapura, Devanahalli, Hosakote & Nelamangala. Deputy Commissioner’s Office Bangalore Rural is situated in the heart of the city near Vidhana Soudha, opposite Coffee Board. The DC office has various sections to deal with different matters of land, law and order, public grievances etc. In the Deputy Commissioner’s Office, the Deputy Commissioner is assisted by ADC (Additional DC), OA (Office Assistant) Election Tahsildar, Project Director of DUDC, Deputy Director of Survey and Land records, Municipal Tahsildar, Shirastedars and Caseworkers of different sections. The district was formed in 2007